Fanny Lumsden Reveals New Single and Video ‘When I Die’

Photo - Dan Freeman

Australian songstress Fanny Lumsden has recently dropped her dazzling new single “When I Die”. Not only that, but a music video was also revealed alongside the release.

“When I Die” is a track that gets you instantly hooked. Fanny’s vocals are absolutely flawless and pitch perfect. It’s the first thing you notice from the moment you press that play button. One of the best things a songwriter can do is tell a good story, and the singer had quite the muse when creating this single. The lyrics tell a tale of a big, bearded lumberjack and bushy called Brett. “When I Die” describes his planned celebration of his own wake which involved a hillside with he described had an “awesome view”,  a bonfire of an old truck, live music from Fanny to serenade him out of this world, and his ashes getting shot out of shotguns during golden hour. Quite the way to go, but it’s a day that his loved ones will never forget.

Fanny Lumsden explains further;

“Brett bailed me up at the pub one day to ask me how much I would charge to perform at his wake. I nominated an outrageous fee and a down payment of a cow and 2 loads of wood. He rocked up a few months later with the first load of wood and let’s just say it has taken off since then! The song is really about sticking to your guns and being true to who you are both in life and in death. I wrote it sitting around a campfire on my own on the Nullarbor Plain.”

The music video also features Brett, and was directed by Fanny herself alongside Dan Freeman. It’s fun-loving, and a pleasure to watch:

The single was released ahead of her fourth studio album “Hey Dawn” which is due to be released on the 4th of August. She will also be spending the summer performing at a variety of different gigs including the iconic Glastonbury festival! She will also be headlining three shows in Ireland – June 28th in Kinsale (sold out), June 29th in Ballydehob and June 30th in Clonakilty – and a sold-out show in London (July 6th). Limited tickets are still available, so catch them quick before they sell out completely! You can find more information here.

To keep up to date with Fanny Lumsden, you can follow her on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook  and TikTok! The full tracklisting for “Hey Dawn” can be found below, and special bundles for the album is now available to pre-order here. “When I Die” is now available to stream via all major streaming platforms!


1. Hey Dawn
2. Great Divide
3. You’ll Be Fine
4. Ugly Flowers
5. When I Die
6. Lucky
7. Soar
8. Millionaire
9. Enjoy The Ride
10. Stories

Let us know what you thought of “When I Die” over on our Twitter! – @AboutThe_Noise