Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real Announce New Album

Photo Credit: Alysse Gafkjen

Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real have recently announced that their new album “A Few Stars Apart” is due to be released on the 11th of June! The album is now available to pre-order here.

Alongside the album announcement, Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real gave us a hint on what the album will sound like by dropping their single “Perennial Bloom (Back To You)” – which is now available to stream via all major streaming platforms! The lyric can be found below;

“A Few Stars Apart” is a testament to finding a human connection. Whether that be friends or family, anyone that is close to you. The band worked with Grammy Award winning producer Dave Cobb in order to achieve the sound of the album. The inspiration came from frontman Lukas Nelson after riding out the beginning of the pandemic with his family in Texas. The record was then recorded with the full band over just three weeks at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A. They are hoping that when one listens to these collection of songs, they will know what it means to come home, be still, and find themselves within their community.

When talking about the creation of the album, Lukas Nelson explains;

“I’m from what one might say is the ultimate road family—I’ve been on the road my entire life,” shares Nelson. “I’ve never been anywhere longer than three months, and suddenly here we are, the four of us together. And thank god we were together. I can’t remember the last time we had that much time together as a family. We had a lot of really important bonding that happened during that time. And I have to say, as terrible as the pandemic has been in so many ways, for my inner peace, I was able to take a lot of good from this time. I was able to pause and reflect. “It took me a really long time to come back to the home in my heart. In a physical sense, that’s Texas and Hawaii. But in a spiritual sense as well—I think I finally decided not to run from who I am and who I am destined to be. First and foremost, that’s a songwriter. That’s what this record means to me. There’s a story being told through the whole record. A story about connection and coming home.”

Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real consists of Lukas Nelson Lukas Nelson (lead vocals, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, piano), Anthony LoGerfo (drums, percussion, tambourine), Corey McCormick (bass guitar, upright bass, Mellotron, vocals), Tato Melgar (percussion) and Logan Metz (piano, Wurlitzer, B3 organ, lap steel, banjo, Mellotron, vocals). The band are based in Texas and Hawaii and released their debut over a decade ago. Since then, they have toured constantly; performing at a variety of sold-out shows, appeared on festival line-ups from around the world, and served as Neil Young’s road band on occasion. Lukas also co-produced the music for 2018’s most loved film “A Star Is Born.” He was able to appear in the film with the band  and went on to win a BAFTA Award for Best Original Music and a GRAMMY Award for Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media for his work.

It’s fair to say that Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real are a band that is worth your time. The full-track listing for “A Few Stars Apart” can be found below. Be show to follow them on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for more updates!


1. We’ll Be Alright

2. Perennial Bloom (Back To You)

3. Throwin’ Away Your Love

4. A Few Stars Apart

5. No Reason

6. Leave ‘em Behind

7. Wildest Dream

8. Giving You Away

9. Hand Me A Light

10. More Than We Can Handle

11. Smile

What did you think of “Perennial Bloom (Back To You)”? Are you excited for the album? Let us know over on our Twitter! – @AboutThe_Noise