REVIEW: Summer Salt Drop New EP ‘Avenue G’

Summer Salt have released their new EP, titled ‘Avenue G’. You can listen to it on Spotify.

With an incredibly impressive 100+ million streams on Spotify, Summer Salt have certainly been on our radar for a while. Combining the popular sounds of 60’s pop, Bossa Nova and jazz, ‘Avenue G’ has that summery, feel good sound that you’ll love.  

Summer Salt blend together with Matthew Terry (vocalist/guitarist) and Eugene Chung (drummer). The two started making music in their senior year of High School, and have had a successful music career ever since.

Feeling nostalgic and sentimental, ‘Avenue G’ features songs written by the duo from years ago. Keeping the tracks up to date as well as featuring their staple sound is not an easy task. Yet it’s really worked for ‘Avenue G’.

The EP starts with ‘Get on Back to You’, which will give you a sense of homecoming and getting back to the person you love. The melody ties the lyrics and vocals together nicely, and will keep you daydreaming for a while! Next up we have ‘Little Legs’. Matthew Terry’s vocals are really apparent here, and is an easy listen. It’s also a great visual, with plenty of metaphors to allow your imagination to run wild. Track three is named ‘Morning Tea’. With a similar sound that we have grown to love from Summer Salt, this track has a slightly different vibe, as there’s barely any singing, however you will still feel emotions of the tune. Lastly, we have ‘Palm Tree on Avenue G’. You’ll like the melody of this one, and will certainly keep you humming along for days.

When chatting about ‘Avenue G’, Summer Salt said:

Avenue G is now a landmark for us, the heart of Austin tx, where we started. We wanted to make an ep dedicated to that and start a chronicle for songs that we wrote when we were younger, revisit them, and bring them back to life. I think it’s a nice way of revisiting the past and displaying our history musically through lyrics and the songs. It’s interesting in writing, a lot of time you find yourself outgrowing something whether that be the musicality of the song or the message of the song itself, but those moments lived in our history and there will always be others who can connect, relate, and find inspiration for the message even if that’s not where we are today. I think that’s why this felt nice and exciting for us.’

If you’re looking for a chill, summery and laid back vibe then stream ‘Avenue G’ now. It has such a feel good sound, you’ve come to the right place. Here’s the track listing:

  1. Get on Back to You
  2. Little Legs
  3. Morning Tea
  4. Palm Tree on Avenue G

Keep updated with Summer Salt on their Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

What’s your favourite track from ‘Avenue G’? Let us know over on our Twitter, @AboutThe_Noise!